yconic - Academic challenges of university
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Academic challenges of university

A photo of caladluin caladluin
Hey everyone!

I'm an incoming first year student, and I wanted to know what are the greatest academic-related challenges people face in university? And how did you handle them?

I'm trying to figure this out before I actually start, since I think this will make my studies quite abit easier...

Thanks! and have a great summer!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
7 replies

A photo of inthemaking inthemaking
In 1st year, my biggest challenge was not skipping class (especially 8:30am/Friday ones). Unless it's a small lecture/attendance is taken, it's hard to motivate yourself to go to class when no one will know/care if you didn't go and you're feeling lazy/the weather sucks.

Learned my lesson after I underachieved in 1st year and I don't skip anymore.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of kiddinaround kiddinaround
Skipping class is a good one, thankfully I didn't fall into that trap.

The hardest thing for me was simply keeping up with all of my reading. Since I had so much free time, I was always going out and organizing things with friends and left reading and pre-reading as a last priority. And once you fall behind, its very difficult to catch up. It made for a fun exam period, lets put it that way.

The best thing you can do to overcome this is probably to make a schedule and outline all the things you want to go over in a week, leaving some time for "fun" of course.

Leaving essays to the last minute was a bit of a problem for me too, but thats self-explanitory. (I'm in business and got like 2 essays this year).
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of ktel ktel