yconic - Acceptances into McGill Arts?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Acceptances into McGill Arts?

A photo of Sarahmac Sarahmac
So, last semester by average was 88.5%, and this semester I'm predicting around the same, maybe an 87%. I'm getting realllly nervous about being accepted to McGill, since I know I'm around the cut-off. I've heard a few people online say contradicting things - some have said that they have friends who have been accepted with 82%, and others who say you'll need a definite 90%. I'm an Ontario student, which I've also heard affects my chances of being accepted since Ontario kids are last-round. Anyone know from experience what I should believe? I'm mad stressin (especially since both my parents and all my uncles and aunts went to McGill, and both my grandfathers were profs there back in the day)!
Thank you :)!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
8 replies

A photo of Palisades Palisades
88.5% is a LITTLE close to the cut-off, but I think you'll likely receive an offer in May (I have a feeling they'll send out a bunch April 14/15 though, b/c that's the last day for "early" Ontario offers of admission). So far I haven't heard of anyone from Ontario getting in with lower than 90%, but they can't accept everyone in the first round. I checked the cut off for the past few years, and for arts they seem to fluctuate from 86 to 87.5. I totally get how you feel though, I was super nervous about McGill despite being a good 5-6% above the cut off. I think if you get your average up even 1% you should be pretty safe, but when your average is already so high it's hard enough maintaining it, let alone improving upon it.
Good luck! Hope you hear good news soon!
Was this helpful? Yes 0