yconic - Adjusting to jump from high school to university - U of T Life Sci?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Adjusting to jump from high school to university - U of T Life Sci?

A photo of ktggirl ktggirl
I'm a grade 12 student and want to hear from U of T Life Sci students about the program is like. Was it difficult to adjust to the jump from high school to university - especially to one as big as U of T SG)? I have a 91 avg. currently and I would say I have great work ethics but I'm still concerned about the rumours I've heard about the difficulty level at U of T. If I'm aiming for medical school later on, is U of T a bad option? Any advice or opinion is welcome. Thnak you.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
5 replies

A photo of CatRunner CatRunner
The problem with choosing U of T if your ultimate goal is medical school is two-fold:

1. U of T is a large university. So there are a LOT of people there who received excellent marks in high school. These people are all now competing to be among the few to receive the very few A+ marks handed out. So competition is fierce.

2. U of T has been known to bell curve down marks if the course average is too high.

You have to realize that most people going to university received excellent marks in high school. Now all these high achievers are at university, where class averages tend to be around B/B+. So some of those straight-A students will no longer be A students.