yconic - Advanced Standing at McGill
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Advanced Standing at McGill

A photo of colakid123 colakid123
Hey guys,

I'm an IB Diploma student and was told (by the McGill recruiter who visited my school) that IB students could skip a year. But the McGill site says I can only get six (usually) credit for each HL course (that's only 3 at my school).

So, how many is it? I emailed the admissions office, and they refuse to tell me until I register at McGill, but whether I can skip a year or not is actually important to my decision.

Anyone who studies at McGill who could fill me in?
Was this helpful? Yes 0
10 replies

A photo of Meridian Meridian
Cola, agree the McGill web site is not exact. When you dig deeper into the calendar it is different for different faculties. There is also differences of whether you can claim them as an "exemption" only or also as a transfer credit.

My read is that unless you are going into a very general Arts program, you would not be able to get a whole years worth of exemption.

http://www.mcgill.ca/students/transfercredit/prospective/
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of deca4life deca4life
Well it also depends on what courses you take. If you take HL math, you'd be getting 12 credits, and HL chem will get you 8 credits. Considering you took something else like HL english or french, you'd get another 6, for a total of 26 credits. You could always take an extra course for a semester.

However, one of my friends is being exempted from first year because she also has HL history, which is also suppose to give you 12 credits...but don't take my word for that.

I guess it really matters about courses you are taking at the moment.