yconic - Anyone else getting screwed over with student loans?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Anyone else getting screwed over with student loans?

A photo of cblake91 cblake91
Hey guys.

So, today was a very bad day for me. Let me tell you why.

I'm a post secondary student out on the West Coast, and I am BARELY living off of student loans. I get about $4000 a semester and my tuition is $3000. So add the cost of books on top of that, and there goes all my loan money.

Well, I got a letter in the mail today. This letter was dated for NOVEMBER 2ND. Today is December 29th. The letter was from National Student Loan Services. It said that they needed proof of enrollment by December 31st, or else I would start paying interest on my loans, even though I am still in school. Well sh*t.

So I head over to my University, only to find out that THEY ARE CLOSED ALL CHRISTMAS BREAK UNTIL JANUARY 4TH. On top of that, it will take 2-6 weeks until I can get my proof of enrollment (and an extra $30). I'm pretty pissed right now. I'm going to have to pay interest on my loans, even though I'm still in school.

That's when I decided to call National Student Loan Services. They essentially told me "Not my problem", and then told me that if I had any outstanding fees on my account (AKA the interest that is going to be charged on January 1st) that they will not give me my loans for next semester. EVEN IF I HAVE THE PROOF OF ENROLLMENT. This is the moment when I started to cry.

I'm so mad, and there is nothing I can do. I'm bent over, and getting raped by the government. And this all could have been avoided if I didn't get this letter TWO FUCKING DAYS BEFORE THE DEADLINE.