yconic - Applying to SE and CS at Waterloo
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Applying to SE and CS at Waterloo

A photo of ronery ronery
Hi guys, I'm a grade 12 student in the midst of applying to university.

I noticed that on OUAC, Waterloo had written this under Software Engineering:
"Apply to only one Engineering program including Software Engineering and those listed under Engineering. Additional Engineering program choices and Mathematics Computer Science can be indicated on the Admission Information Form."

I called in today to clarify, but the admissions department told me that SE and CS required separate applications, as they're in different departments.

Can anyone shed some light on this?
Thanks.

I'm mainly worried about this since SE has some pre-requisites(i.e. chemistry and physics) that CS doesn't have. If I list the latter on my AIF, will they recalculate my top six (without the two courses) for CS?
Was this helpful? Yes 0
7 replies

A photo of rightsaidfred rightsaidfred
ON your OUAC application, one choice will be SE. Another choice will be CS.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of ronery ronery

@rightsaidfred wrote
ON your OUAC application, one choice will be SE. Another choice will be CS.

Sorry, perhaps I should re-word my problem. I am wondering if I can put down CS as an alternate program on my AIF (that is originally intended for SE).

It'd be great if someone who has applied to these two programs (which I'm sure is not rare around here) could help.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of ZetaShift ZetaShift