yconic - Ask a Queen's Commerce Student!
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Ask a Queen's Commerce Student!

A photo of QueensCommerceTyler QueensCommerceTyler
Hey Everyone,

My name is Tyler and I am in my second year of Queen's Commerce. I know a lot of you probably have a lot of questions so, to help stop any spread of misinformation, you can ask me.

I'm part of a student committee at Queen's that liaises with high-school students (at OUF, open houses, online, etc.), so I am a reliable information source. I may not have all the statistics you may want, but I have a deep understanding of the Commerce program at Queen's.

If you have any questions, feel free to post them here or PM me. I am in mid-terms, so I may be a bit slow to respond, but I'll try to get back to you within a day.

Cheers,
~Tyler
Was this helpful? Yes 0
23 replies

A photo of LivingTheLife LivingTheLife
Hey Im a grade 11 student with a low 90s average and very little volunteer experience. I plan on starting a organization in my school later this year, I was wondering if there is a certain type of EC that the school looks highly upon? Such as sports teams, volunteering, club members etc..

Also, outside of the academics.. are the commerce students a good time? Like to party?

Thanks
Was this helpful? Yes 0

There's no magic extra-curricular that admissions is looking for, but its always good to show leadership as well as a well-rounded mix of ECs (for example, not just sports or just academic associations).

In terms of culture, Commerce students work hard but also have a lot of fun. There are even events (from conferences to parties) put on by student-run organizations in the program.
Was this helpful? Yes 0