yconic - Ask me about finance
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Ask me about finance

A photo of Lifeonthesea Lifeonthesea
Hi guys,

I remember being on this forum a few year ago. At that time, I had absolutely no idea what a career in finance meant and what different career options within finance entailed. Looking back, I wish I had someone to show me the ropes. Now that I'm on the other side of the fence (sort of), I want to help you understand a bit more about the career field so you can be more prepared than I was.

A little bit about myself: I am a third year business student at a top 2 business school in Canada (Ivey, Queen's). I have recently gone through finance recruiting, interviewed with 60%+ of the large banks you are probably familiar with, and will be starting my summer internship in a few months. I don't pretend to understand everything, but I can say that I'm more intimate with the career path than most of you.

So please, ask me anything about career fit, school choices, career opportunities, recruitment procedures, etc.

I can also help answer any questions you may have about the different finance roles, including investment banking, sales & trading, equity research, corporate finance, buy-side and so on.

Unfortunately, I will not disclose any more information about myself (including which firm I'll be working with, etc) as the field is quite small and I don't want to be held liable for what I'm saying on this forum.

Ask away!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
33 replies

A photo of JSH10 JSH10
How was the competition?
Were there a lot of positions available (S&T, IB, ER, etc)?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

@JSH10 wrote
How was the competition?