yconic - Back to School Checklist...
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Back to School Checklist...

A photo of MaybeMelody MaybeMelody
Hi,

I'm a first year student, and I'm possibly a little bit too excited about starting school next month. I took this past year off to work, so going back to school is a welcome change.

Every summer, one of my favourite things to do is my back to school shopping. Thing is, university's obviously new to me, so I'm not sure what I need to buy! I've got my laptop and laptop bag... and I know that I'll find out my required textbooks around the first week of classes... I'm just wondering whether or not I should also be buying binders, notebooks, pens and pencils. Now's not a time to be spending unnecessarily, so I wanted to get some advice before I hit the stores! :)

Thanks for your help!
-Melody, 1st Year Education Student, Brock.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
4 replies

A photo of Businessman Businessman
What works for me might not work for you.

The only thing I buy when I am going back to school is a laptop. Everything else I might need I usually get for free and in the worst case scenario I buy second hand or 1-2 weeks before the school starts

If you know that you will need lots of papers, notebooks, pencils, sticky notes then better buy them 1-2 weeks before the school will start. Thats when the prices are the lowest and you can get items with 30-95% discounts.

You can get things like pens, pencils, rulers, sticky notes, highlighters and erasers for free. All you need to do is just go to a job event, business event or even a public library and everything you need could be found there for free. :cheers:

Was this helpful? Yes 0