yconic - BC student attending Ontario Uni
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

BC student attending Ontario Uni

A photo of paulliwali paulliwali
So I am a BC student mostly likely attending Uoft and will probably need the assistance of OSAP. However I am not too familiar with some terminology and process and hope to get everything cleared up here.

So I know there is something called UTAPS offered by UofT and to my understanding it is like a supplement to the OSAP?

When do I apply for OSAP and how? Should I apply now or wait until I have made the decision on OUAC which university I will be attending first? and do I apply OSAP through the BC Student Loan?

Thanks.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
12 replies

A photo of heesoup heesoup
I think you have to be an Ontario student to apply for OSAP...
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of cyynthiia cyynthiia
^
Yep I think so too.
I'm in the same situation as you, or will be if I ultimately go to U of T.
You can apply for student loans here in BC, but you won't get all the grants.
You'll get the loans from the federal government, but you won't get the provincial assistance since you aren't studying in BC anymore.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of heesoup heesoup

@cyynthiia wrote
^
Yep I think so too.
You'll get the loans from the federal government, but you won't get the provincial assistance since you aren't studying in BC anymore.

That's unfortunate. I know that OSAP can cover me even if I wanted to go study at UBC...
Was this helpful? Yes 0

@heesoup wrote

@cyynthiia wrote
^
Yep I think so too.

That's unfortunate. I know that OSAP can cover me even if I wanted to go study at UBC...

That's what my counselor tells me anyways..