yconic - Can I Get In!?
Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Can I Get In!?

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
Here's some information and I'd love some opinions on whether I could get into the following schools for BA (either PoliSci or International Studies depending on the school).

Schools I'm applying to:
UofAlberta, UBC, McGill, UofT, Queen's, Waterloo, UVic, Dalhousie

Grade 11 Average - 92.6%
Grade 12 courses taken:
Law - 96%
Earth & Space - 90%

My current very preliminary sem. 1 looks like:
English - 92%
Chem - 85%
Business Leadership - 95 %
(91%ish average so far)

I'm in my second year as Student Senator of the school and second year as one of two student trustees in my school board, I volunteer with heart & stroke and cancer society, I've done six years of work with Me to We, I lead the Gender/Sexuality Alliance within my school... etc.

What do you think my chances of getting to those schools are? Scholarship possibilities? Thanks! 

PS no "trolls" please
Was this helpful? Yes 0
12 replies

UofA- yes
UBC- yes
McGill- yes
UofT- idk
Was this helpful? Yes 1

Thanks for the opinion! Honestly, UofT is somewhat out of curiosity but I'm interested to say.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

These universities I listed only look at grades, so go on their website and if you pass the entrance average, you're in.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

You say P.S no trolls please, yet your entire post comes across as a troll. What exactly are you hoping to hear? Arts programs are by no means competitive. Pol Sci is the same everywhere and useless without further grad schooling. You can pretty much get into all your programs with low to mid 80s. McGIll requires higher but it's nothing special for arts. Most of those programs don't even care about Ecs.