yconic - Chances of transfering to UBC Sauder/ U of A business
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Chances of transfering to UBC Sauder/ U of A business

A photo of wkddnsgur wkddnsgur
I'm a first year university student at U of Alberta. I wish to transfer to UBC Sauder or to U of A Business department for my second year (I will have 27 credits when finished first year). I finished application quite a while ago and was wondeirng what are my chanes of getting accepted to UBC or UofA.

Eco101- 4.0
Eco102- 4.0 (Currently enrolled)
English 103- 3.0
English 104- 3.3 (currently enrolled)
Psych 101- 3.3 (currently enrolled)
Psych 102- 2.7
Math- 3.7
Stats-4.0 (currently enrolled)
Philosophy- 3.7 (currently enrolled)

UBC wants two economics, one math and one english. My core GPA will be 3.7 and my overall GPA with other courses would be around 3.4-3.5.

Alberta wants two econs, two english, one math and one stats. They only look at overall GPA which would be around 3.4-3.5.

What are my chances?
Was this helpful? Yes 0
5 replies

A photo of forthewinwin forthewinwin
Depends on how good your supplemental application is.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

@forthewinwin wrote
Depends on how good your supplemental application is.

Can you give me an example of 'good' supplemental please?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of forthewinwin forthewinwin
There are 3 main things they look for: variety of activities, dedication of activities (i.e. how long have you did ____ for continuously), and leadership (i.e. not just a 'member')

An ideal example would be:
- Basketball team for 4 years, played once a week, with ____ award
- Swim team for 4 years, played once a week, with ___ award