yconic - Choosing a univeristy for Comp Sci
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Choosing a univeristy for Comp Sci

A photo of kkvnlxy kkvnlxy
Hi all,
I am losing the direction now, and want to hear some advice.
I am a computer science student currently attending a college in BC, and by the end of this April, I will obtain an associate degree of science. In other word, after this semester, I will finish my college study, and am supposed to move on.
Since an associate degree cannot do anything, I am more willing to advance to a university, but I don't have a decent GPA.
The average GPA for 70 credits is only 2.44 (which SFU considered and rejected my application recently) and 2.56 for the most recent 30 credits (which UBC are considering. although they have not yet replied to my application, I know the possibility of getting into there is very small.)
I know my GPA is poor, but I really don't wanna go back to work at a restaurant for minimum wage. So I want to move beyond.

Everybody please, I want to know:
1. What will be the admission GPA for university transfer for UVic, McMaster U., U. of Alberta, U. of Calgary, and Queen's U. (for computer science)?
2. What other university I will be more likely to be accepted? and what is their admission GPA?
3. If you have any other advice, I am open for it.

Thank you for taking time reading the post.
Have a good one.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
7 replies

A photo of Bscit Bscit
Dont have an answer to your question, you should maybe call the university or ask your guidance Counsellor.
But i would recommend applying to Waterloo and also UofT.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

@Bscit wrote