yconic - Choosing between UofT, Waterloo, UBC or Mcmaster
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Choosing between UofT, Waterloo, UBC or Mcmaster

A photo of Morkovk Morkovk
Hi everybody,
I am an international student from Russia and I am going to enter one of canadian universities within a year. All of them have their positive and negative points and I am really torn between them. I want to enter maths/computer/business program
So there is what I know now:

UofT:
pros: high reputation, located in Toronto, a lot of research
cons: highly competitive, the university keeps its GPA low artificcially, so impossible to get high grades, no school spirit or social life, easy to get lost because of its size

Waterloo:
pros: high reputation. good co-op program, much attention to mathematics, located near Toronto
cons: highly compeptitive, no social life, all students are nerds, no white people (no racism, just the fact that it is possible to be alone), poor condition of a gym (important for me), ugly dorms,located in isolated and gloomy town.

UBC:
pros: easy transfer (through Columbia College), beauty of Vancover, reputation as a top university, a lot of research
cons: located in British Columbia (fewer work opportunities), mostly asian, many bad reviews about profs.

Mcmaster:
pros: good social scene, lovely campus, education of high quality, good co-op program (or not?, good maths department, located near Toronto
cons: nothing special, doesn't have a reputation as a top university, possibility of not getting work experience after graduation, poor choice of maths programs.