yconic - colleges
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

colleges

A photo of BearStearns BearStearns
Hello

I am currently in my first semester of grade 11 and doing average. My previous two years in high school have been AWFUL. My average is around 70% ATM (improved from 50%)

I am very much interested in a career in business but i am afraid that my performance over the previous two years of high school are going to effect what schools i can get into.

1. Is there still a possiblilty that i can get into a ivy school? or even a decent university

2. Should i just take the college path and get trasfered?

3. What would you do if you were in my shoes

Was this helpful? Yes 0
4 replies

A photo of g93 g93
Do you mean Ivey as in Western + Ivey AEO (Richard Ivey School of Business)?

or Ivy as in an Ivy league school in the states such as Harvard?

Because with a 70 average, you don't really have a chance at either. If somehow you can get your average up to high-80s or low 90s, then you might (might) get into Ivey (Western).

There are still some other good programs with lower averages than Ivey, but most you need at least an 80.

A good college is Conestoga College in Kitchener. They have a few degree programs as well.

Hope that helps.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of noxx98 noxx98
Yes it is completely possible. If you continue to work hard and can get it up to the 75-80 range, you can look at some decent universities. In that range you could go to Guelph, Ryerson (maybe?), or potentially Waterloo Arts and Business (co-op program!).