yconic - Commerce/Econ (Queen's McGill UBC)
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Commerce/Econ (Queen's McGill UBC)

A photo of jokoop jokoop
I'm certain I want to apply to apply to a commerce or arts (for economics) program.

My top choices for Commerce would be Queen's or McGill, with UBC as a backup.
Could someone give me a good breakdown of how these school ATMOSPHERES compare? I have a good idea of the admission requirements and academia.

Also, how does a BA with a major in Econ compare to a BComm?

Thanks!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
6 replies

A photo of cfws1992 cfws1992
I think I can help you out here buddy. I'm a second year Econ student at McGill, but Kingston (Queens) is my hometown, i've lived there my entire life. I was accepted for commerce and econ at both schools, and I decided on econ because its a great degree to have in terms of transferability, and I'm not 100% sure if I want to business in the future. As far as econ goes, its definitely not easy, as its all problem-solving and manipulating graphs/equations. It's a language of its own. I like it alot, because everyone knows its tough, and it is, but it makes sense and is relevant. Plus, people know that an econ degree means you can really think/solve problems. Commerce is great too though, you definitely can't go wrong in your choice of programs.