yconic - concerning poli sci in Carleton please help
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

concerning poli sci in Carleton please help

A photo of highskoolblows highskoolblows
well i am a grade 12 student from high school at the moment and i am currently trying to get into university for poli sci and law in Carleton but my thing is i did ended up with a poor mark in English(70) last term due to personal reasons and i was wondering should i take night school or could i still get into the program i want if i drove up my average because English is my worst mark and i can still get my avg to high 70 or mid 80s

any though is appreciated
Was this helpful? Yes 0
15 replies

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
I'm in political science and law at Carleton. It seems this program is too prestigious for you so I'd say no. Try applying again next year.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of ffcelik ffcelik
70 seems to be enough for English in Carleton most of the time... You can always take in night school to get a higher mark if you know it won't conflict with your other courses. However, I heard they put an 'X' beside courses taken outside of day school, which apparently makes it look bad. Just for a heads up...

Good luck.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of canta93loupe canta93loupe

@ARMY101 wrote
I'm in political science and law at Carleton. It seems this program is too prestigious for you so I'd say no. Try applying again next year.

lol "too prestigious"

From the Carleton website:

An overall average of at least 70% is normally required to be considered for admission.