yconic - Co-op Experience vs Reputable university
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Co-op Experience vs Reputable university

A photo of JohnEwards18 JohnEwards18
Hi, I am currently studying computer science at Brock University, I am in the coop program.

I was thinking about switching into University of Toronto (St. George) for computer science, I have applied for it and my current average is about 86% and I am hoping to maintain by the end of the term.

I'm not quite sure whether I should stay in the co-op program as it would led be a better job post graduation or transfer as a reputable university would get be a better job in the future.

I just wanted to hear some thoughts towards this as I have laid out my own arguments on both sides, but wanted to hear from other perspectives as it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
12 replies

A photo of ktel ktel
Experience trumps reputation every time.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
My tutor did his double major in Math and Computer Science Co-op from Brock and this guy isn't dumb, the school you go to doesn't reflect your intelligence. He now works for one of the major banks in Canada and earns a killer salary just with his undergraduate degree.

Don't get too caught up with prestige!
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of LindaS LindaS
Experience is important if you plan to go to work after university.
Prestige is important if your plan to go to grad school and work in research.
It all depends on the path you want to take.

Also, I wouldn't say u of t compsci is very prestigious.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of ktel ktel