yconic - Dalhousie vs. Queens
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Dalhousie vs. Queens

A photo of ChristinaJ ChristinaJ
I am a student graduating from a high school in Ontario with a 95 average. I have been accepted to both Dalhousie and Queens and these two universities are my final choices but I can't seem to decide between the two of them! I want to major in Global/ International Development and Queens has the better program, but I also want to minor in Business, which is something that they only allow you to do at Dal. As well, I am worried about the snobby reputation of Queens, so I think Dal offers a better atmosphere. Dal offers the better extra curricular programs for my interests (kayaking, scuba diving…). I've heard good and bad things about both universities!!!
I need help! Any thoughts???
Was this helpful? Yes 0
1 replies

A photo of ariadne89 ariadne89
Queen's Gael here. I know quite a few people in the Devs program who have paired their Devs major with a minor in economics, which would probably accomplish more or less the same thing as a minor in business (ie. prepare you for financial work with non-profits or any finance/economic-related work in global development).

Queen's is not any snobbier than Dalhousie (Dalhousie draws a majority of white upper/middle class students just like Queen's does). In fact, you may find that Dal can be very cliqueish and that non-Ontarian students have a lot of resentment and prejudice towards people from Ontario, especially if you hail from the GTA. Although there are enough Ontario students at Dal now that they just form their own clique.