yconic - Dealing with a 'Professor' for 3 high school subjects X_X
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Dealing with a 'Professor' for 3 high school subjects X_X

A photo of powerproxy powerproxy
I am in need of assistance. If you have the time to read this "story", please do so

I am a grade 12 student at an Ontario high school currently taking in semester one (I will only mention the courses that matter in this situation)

Uni Chem
Advanced Functions

Both of these courses, AND my next semester Calculus & Vectors, is taught by the same teacher.

N.B. He was also my teacher for Grade 11 Functions. -_-

This teacher is a PhD in chemistry, and has a passion to challenge students intellectually. Long story short, he is a guy with a good reputation; wrote a couple of books, was a professeur and TA at UofT, was even asked to write up a textbook. If you have him the first few days of class, he teaches like as if he expects you to already know the course material that needs to be introduced firsthand to the students.

In chemistry, he first begun with explaining concepts briefly and often through his own words. He would criticize the textbook for its structures, and even for some mistakes he found. However, as the year progressed, he adopts the behaviour of giving us the booklet package to work on for a unit and sit there at the desk.

Chemistry is not the problem for me. I am able to understand concepts by searching online, asking him for help (by the way, going to him for extra help privately is like being taught by an actual teacher going step-by-step. Hes a different person personally)