yconic - Do Grade 10 Marks Matter? What about in USA Universities?
Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Do Grade 10 Marks Matter? What about in USA Universities?

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
I am currently a Grade 10 IBT student in Ontario, Canada. 

I heard from one strongly academic person that they definitely plan to take a top University in the U.S.
They said they look at all your marks from all grades of highschool, and your entire high school average, will be assessed or influence chances of getting accepted. 

I had previously thought I could slack off in Grade 10. To show the difference, I had a 92 in Math Grade 9, but in Grade 10 have a 71. 

Should I be really concerned about that for Canada/Us universities?

(I achieved Overall 87-91% average in Grade 9.)
Was this helpful? Yes 0
9 replies

Gr.10 math is a joke compared to Gr.11 and 12 math. Gr.11 and 12 math is a joke compared to university level math. Take that into consideration. Math builds off concepts that are taught to you in previous years. If you're struggling in basic Gr.10 mathematics then you lack the foundations to understand even the basic concepts in Gr.11 Functions. This trend will continue and really impact what programs you apply to and what career paths you choose. 

P.S. Work on improving your math because if this trend continues then you're going to get locked out of a lot of careers based on your weaker math skills alone. 
Was this helpful? Yes 0

Sorry, I seem to have misguided my primary concern by mentioning my Math decrease as a prime example. But I do not mean only Math, nor am I asking the question of whether Grade 10 marks matter BECAUSE they are representative of Grade 11 or 12.