yconic - Do universities really look at your chemistry mark (when it's a prerequisite)?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Do universities really look at your chemistry mark (when it's a prerequisite)?

A photo of bonanza14 bonanza14
Hi there,
I am a grade 12 student and I've just received my first semester final marks...
I didn't do well at all in chemistry because I just had a really hard time understanding my teacher. Compared to the rest of my class, I did extremely well but unfortunately that will not make a difference in the eyes of the universities.

If my chemistry mark is relatively low, will it make a huge impact on the rest of my application? Will this jeopardize early acceptance and/or regular acceptance?
Considering chemistry is a prerequisite, will they value a higher mark in chemistry than one of my other marks which is not a prerequisite.

My marks are:
Chemistry 80%
Human Growth and Development 94%
Advanced Functions 88%
English 92%

Thanks for your help :compress:
Was this helpful? Yes 0
10 replies

A photo of inthemaking inthemaking
Yes they'll look at it and it matters. It doesn't matter if you got 99% in your non-prereq courses, all they use to calculate admission average are your top 6 including prereqs (for Ontario universities, at least).
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous

@bonanza14 wrote
Hi there,
I am a grade 12 student and I've just received my first semester final marks...
I didn't do well at all in chemistry because I just had a really hard time understanding my teacher. Compared to the rest of my class, I did extremely well but unfortunately that will not make a difference in the eyes of the universities.