yconic - ECs and Awards
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

ECs and Awards

A photo of Rela Rela
Greetings, I am currently a grade 11 student attending high school. I have showed much interest into the Richard Ivey and Schulich business programs. I am an exceptional student who is able to achieve and maintain high marks, my current average with multiple grade 12 courses are 98%.

However, I am concerned with the fact that I am lacking extracurricular activities and awards which will greatly influence their decision. I have done 60 hours of community service at a retirement home but nothing really outside of that. I plan on joining the deca group and the school newspaper writers crew next year in order to make up for the lack of extracurricular activities. I have not won any awards either.

Exceptional applicants for the Richard Ivey program usually have around 20 extracurricular activities and multiple awards. Can someone give me some advice as to how and where I could obtain more of these extracurricular activities?

Thank you.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
8 replies

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
20 extra curricular activities? I've never met someone with that much time on their hands. Honestly, you don't have much to worry about with that 98% avg. If you really want to re assure yourself though and have a bit of fun at the same time, join your schools debate team or DECA club. Even try out for a sports team or two, and you're basically guaranteed admission. BTW, the more you volunteer, the better it looks on your application.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

This post was deleted

A photo of Rela Rela