yconic - Fast Tracking through uni
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Fast Tracking through uni

A photo of izumiisa izumiisa
I'm currently in my First year and I was told yesterday that I could potentially graduate in two years. (So two more winter terms and one summer.)

Conflict ensues.

If I fast track, I will only be getting my degree requirements. (No French minor that I was thinking about.) Also, no co-op.

BUT. I'd have only done 3 years, instead of the 5 that is usually required for co-op. I could go straight to grad school. I could take those years to travel or work. Or both...

Thoughts?

Was this helpful? Yes 0
9 replies

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
..don't fasttrack..?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of inthemaking inthemaking
Don't. Undergrad is awesome and you'll most likely regret not spending more time in that stage of your life.

Speaking from my own personal experience, I completed undergrad in 3 years because I got into professional school but if I could have deferred my acceptance and completed a 4th year before moving on, I 100% would have. And I was pursuing a psych minor (3 courses short of obtaining it), didn't get that either. True I'm shaving a year's time + tuition/other expenses off, but it's worth it to slow down and spend more time with your friends, enjoy new experiences etc.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Jack555 Jack555
whats the hurry
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of cookietiara cookietiara
Do it. Why bother spend another year doing undergrad when you can move onto the next stage of your life?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous