yconic - Gr. 12 Accounting Contests
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Gr. 12 Accounting Contests

A photo of AliBouHamya AliBouHamya
I am a grade 12 student in Ottawa and I am going to write the OBEA Accounting Competition and the CA COIN Challenge. They are both multiple choice. I was wondering if anyone has taken them before and can tell me how it is and the level of difficulty of the questions. Thanks ahead of time.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
18 replies

A photo of g93 g93
The OBEA one is a joke. Three of us at our school wrote it last year a few months after taking accounting, did absolutely zero studying for it, completed it as fast as we could, and gave joke answers for the tie-breaking question. One of us finished in 2nd or 3rd and one of us was 5th or 7th or something (I really don't remember).

The COIN contest is more competitive. It's much better because you get to go down to a local CATO office and write it there. It's not that hard to do well on (if you study or are taking accounting at the same time it would be quite easy). There's also a bunch of cash prizes and if you are top-20 you get to go down to Toronto and meet with a bunch of CAs from various accounting firms and get food and stuff. If you do hope to get there you'll have to study.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

Thanks for the information. I am going to try and get 1st in both. Also is there any things on them that are not in the curriculum? And what is the majority of the questions about? Thanks
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of g93 g93