yconic - Grade 12 courses to take for Engineering
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Grade 12 courses to take for Engineering

A photo of applesnack applesnack
I'm a grade 11 student and here are the grade 12 courses I've picked so far: AF, Calc & vectors, English, Physics, Chem, Bio. I was thinking about switching out of bio for a tech course....would that be helpful? What I'm trying to say is, will I have a better chance of getting into engineering by taking either an engineering tech course or a 12U bio course? Wouldn't universities like it better if i took bio because its harder and it shows how well rounded my interests are? But taking an engineering tech class shows how 'experienced' I am with the type of engineering program I wanna get into?I will most likely apply to ECE or nanotech, so I'd probly take the grade 12 computer engineering tech class
Was this helpful? Yes 0
22 replies

A photo of iRamie iRamie
All your courses look fantastic except for bio (Why waste your time in it, when you aren't even going into the field).

Take a course like TEJ, you will learn about electronics and robotics (Well atleast in my school board, thats the curriculum). Last year we learned about microcontrollers and digital circuits, it was an awesome course. It will definitely help you first year if you go into any Electrical/Mechanical/Computer engineering.

Another course i would recommend is ICS4U, the computer science course. It will give you great fundamental knowledge for programming in university. Again, this depends on your school, but my school prepares us really well for next year. We learned 3 languages throughout highschool ICS courses at my school.