yconic - Health Sciences Programs
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Health Sciences Programs

A photo of GRNDMSTR GRNDMSTR
I am a grade 12 student living in Alberta. I attend a challenging university prep school with 100% of all students pursuing an IB diploma or certificate. I currently have a 95 percent overall average (using my English 30, Physics 30, Bio 30, Chem 30, and Social 30). I am interested in going into a health sciences course. The closest one to where I live would be the U of Calgary health sciences program. However, I am interested in applying to the Mcmaster and Queens health science program as well. I have several questions:
1. Is taking a health science course worth it if my ultimate goal is medical school admittance. I have heard that the curve for many health sciences courses are ridiculous, and since most med schools are course blind, would it be detrimental to take such a specialized, albeit more challenging course?
2. What are my chances of getting into an ontario school's health science's program? Would it be a lot more difficult since I'm an OOP? Would they look at extra curricular activities as well? I'm currently the president of two clubs, I volunteer at the local red cross, and I am a member of my school's grad council. Would putting this on my application help?
Thank you in advance for all your help.
~ Cheers
Was this helpful? Yes 0
1 replies

A photo of inthemaking inthemaking