yconic - Horrible in Math, okay in Science...Should I transfer to science program anyways??
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Horrible in Math, okay in Science...Should I transfer to science program anyways??

A photo of peachtea87 peachtea87
I am going into my 2nd year at Waterloo this fall. I am majoring in psychology and I will be graduating with a Bachelor of Arts. Before, I knew that the chances of getting a job is extremely slim so I decided to go to graduate school for counseling psychology. Recently I was looking at the stats for graduate school and I got very discouraged because the chances of being accepted are approximately 20/300 applicants. I can't even get into my honours psychology program right now so graduate school isn't really an option for me anymore. To be honest, even though I love psychology, I can't see myself working in this field because I am horrible at giving advices to people and my oral communication skills isn't even close to the top.

In high school, I really loved biology and chemistry. However, my marks weren't that good. I finished grade 12 biology with a 81% and grade 11 chemistry with a 75%. I could've done better in grade 11 chemistry but I slacked off a the end and got 50% on my final exam so it dropped my average by 10%. Originally, my chemistry mark was 86%. But then again, my friend who is really strong in science helped me a lot in these 2 subjects...My worked my butt off in math..I even had a math tutor. The highest mark I ever received in high school math was 68% and the lowest was 61%.