yconic - How are my ECs?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

How are my ECs?

A photo of Ykama Ykama
Hello!

I'm a 11th grade international student wishing to pursue my undergrad business studies in Canada. Currently, I have three extracurricular activities:

- Joined the school enviromental group for sustainable development
- Joined the school simulation of the United Nations security and historical congresses
- Co-founded a start-up company designed to virtually share summaries of the school subjects (written by me) and therefore improve students' marks and academic accomplishment.

I plan to further develop those activities as I go through my High School years. My goals include becoming the principal director of the United Nations simulation debate club and travel to some distant places within my homecountry to study biodiversity with the environmental group.

Also, my grades (for now) are in the mid-nineties.

Hope some of you could give me an insight whether this is a solid plan to aim for acceptance into the top canadian business schools (like Ivey, Mcgill, Rotman and Schulich)

Thanks in advance!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
9 replies

A photo of jelly jelly
If you can sell yourself well on three strong ECs, you should be fine. Your marks are great so you're probably well on track.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of cliffhanger33 cliffhanger33
Ivey looks for four elements: Leadership, achievement, commitment and initiative. If you can get all four of these in your top 3 activities, you should be fine. I would suggest holding more leadership roles in your above activities, but you should definitely be on the right track.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Ykama Ykama