yconic - How to get internships if you dont get into co-op?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

How to get internships if you dont get into co-op?

A photo of ray123 ray123
Hi,

I am a laurier bba student. I dont know yet if I got into laurier co-op or not. Is there anyone who didnt get into to laurier co-op, but still got an internships? How do you go about finding and applying? Were you ever asked about laurier co-op? Please advice me with any info you have.

Thanks
Was this helpful? Yes 0
7 replies

A photo of caveman caveman
Networking.

You can also check the Co-op/Career Center (King and Lodge). It may have some postings. Otherwise go to the websites of companies you're interested in and check out their websites, you could try a job board from one of the accounting institutes or talentegg or something, maybe attend a career fair somewhere, but biggest of all you've got to network.

I'm not at Laurier, but this is pretty standard. If you're asking whether they'll wonder why you're not in co-op, just explain it to them, or if you want to try and hide it just say you're not in the co-op program and hope they don't press further.

Where will you be looking for work, and in what industry? And are you in first year?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of ray123 ray123

@caveman wrote
Networking.

You can also check the Co-op/Career Center (King and Lodge). It may have some postings. Otherwise go to the websites of companies you're interested in and check out their websites, you could try a job board from one of the accounting institutes or talentegg or something, maybe attend a career fair somewhere, but biggest of all you've got to network.