yconic - I know it sounds terrible, but should I?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

I know it sounds terrible, but should I?

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
Hey all,

Judge if you want. I just want some opinions on this... I really don't know what to do. I'm a grade 12 student in Ontario, and school started for me two weeks ago. A couple of days ago, our guidance counselor had a meeting to tell us about scholarships. The one in particular that I am interested in is awarded for character, leadership, and academic achievements. The problem is that each school can only nominate one student to apply for the award.

I know of a few other students interested in this award, but there is one student in particular that concerns me. She's been a classmate of mine for a long time now and, to put it quite simply, she's a cheater. She seems to be able to find a way to cheat on almost every test, including skipping class and forging doctor's notes, getting someone to steal a copy of the test, etc. She was caught once, in grade 10, and was suspended for five days.

My worry now is that she will receive the nomination for the award. She's a good student (no doubt as a result of her cheating), and surprisingly the suspension was sort of swept under the rug. None of our teachers even suspect that she still cheats. She also has some pretty decent leadership activities.

My question is, should I speak up about it? I just don't think it would be fair to me or anyone else if she was nominated, especially for a scholarship awarded for character. What would you do in my position?

Thanks to anyone who actually read this long and rambling post.

Cheers!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
12 replies