yconic - I'm a CS student, which laptop should I buy?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

I'm a CS student, which laptop should I buy?

A photo of mpalha04 mpalha04
I'm going into UW Computer Science and I'm hoping to buy a new laptop over the summer... Just wanted to hear some suggestions. I'm also a music kinda person so a laptop with a good sound system would be great to know (but it's not totally important). I hear Macs have different controls than PCs, so will this affect the sort of coding I do in the program? And I'm also looking for a laptop with lots of disk space to store my files. Thanks for ur inputs!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
15 replies

A photo of chatmike chatmike
If you care about sound quality, then you should be investing in some external speakers, not fancy laptop speakers. Getting "good" laptop speakers is like polishing poop. Hey, its shiny, but its still poop.

Research what programs you need to run on your computer for your university and see if there are any compatibility problems with Macs. If its negligible and you don't mind being price gauged to death, go for the Mac.

Couple tips:

If you want lots of space, you're looking for something with more than 500GB (try and get it at 7200 rpm for extra awesomeness) at the minimum. You could also invest in an external hard drive for more space.

Buy a computer with a sandy bridge processor. Don't start behind the curve, get the latest and greatest to last you the longest.

Ram 4GB minimum of course