yconic - I'm going to McMaster for business/commerce, but want to go to Ivey
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

I'm going to McMaster for business/commerce, but want to go to Ivey

A photo of Yokii Yokii
So I graduated from HS with an 85%. I'm really disappointed in myself for not getting into ivey at western because I have the extra-curricular and leadership (head of clubs, part of councils, 3 sports teams, plus out of school jobs, a service trip to Ecuador). My overall average wasn't great enough for me to be as competitive as I would like. I want to know of how to aim to get into ivey for 3rd year entry. Also, how is the mac commerce/business program at McMaster, I've heard it isn't the best.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
6 replies

A photo of goldmansachs goldmansachs
To get into Ivey as a transfer is obviously a bit more difficult than getting the AEO status, they take 1/3rds outside of Western so you still have a chance. You need to keep up with extracirruculars, work experience and your marks. If your marks are around 85% and you have a good level of involvement, then you are a competitive applicant. As for MAC's business program, in short: it sucks. Lol I don't know what else to tell you really, just transfer.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Yokii Yokii
Should I try to transfer to Laurier for second year and then try to transfer to Ivey for third year? I feel if I do that, then it will be hard to keep grades up and activities if I continue changing universities. Also, what sorts of activities should I get involved in when I'm at university to be competitive?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of goldmansachs goldmansachs