yconic - International Developement and Globalization Co-op program
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

International Developement and Globalization Co-op program

A photo of Chickadee Chickadee
Hey everyone!

I'm a grade 10 student interested in the co-op program for International Developement and Globalization and University of Ottawa. I know a lot of grade 12 students who have been applying to this program, and I'm starting to think that it's getting very copetitive.

Because there is the option to apply for the coop when doing your regular application in grade 12, I was wondering what I can do now to help myself rise above competition for early admittance to the coop program. Is it strictly grades or more?
Was this helpful? Yes 0
11 replies

A photo of LaPetiteTanya LaPetiteTanya
It's more than just grades. Volunteer hours and fincancial need also qualify you for scholarships. Get really involved :)
Was this helpful? Yes 0

Alright Thanks! :)
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of NumberOne NumberOne

@LaPetiteTanya wrote
It's more than just grades. Volunteer hours and fincancial need also qualify you for scholarships. Get really involved :)

Not for co-op.

For co-op and/or admittance to programs it's 100% about grades. UOttawa doesn't make you fill out a supplementary application.

However, if you want scholarships (money to help pay your tuition), that is when you are going to need grades + extra curriculars.

With that said, it's still very important to have extra curriculars because many other programs do take that into account e.g U of T, Queen's etc.

Good luck :)

Was this helpful? Yes 0