yconic - Is concurrent education for me?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Is concurrent education for me?

A photo of Cr?meGlac Cr?meGlac
I'm a high school student going in to grade 12 in September, and I'm interested in becoming a teacher.
Concurrent education appeals to me because I would be able to gain more teaching experience, and because I wouldn't have to worry about getting into teacher's college after I finish my undergrad.

However, arts and science programs also really appeal to me.
Although I know I want to be a teacher, I don't know whether I want to go into the sciences or the arts. I love them both, and a double major in arts and science would be nice.

Also, as of now, I don't have much experience or good extracurriculars I could write about in my application. I'm doing a co-op at an elementary school in grade 12, but it's in second semester, after applications are due, so I'm not sure how that would help. Another question: If I decided to go to teacher's college after my undergrad, would they even care that I took co-op in high school? How hard would it be to get into teacher's college?

So yeah, I'm kind of conflicted right now. I need to start researching universities now, because application time is coming up soon!

Basically I can't decide between
artsci + teacher's college
and
concurrent education
Was this helpful? Yes 0
11 replies

A photo of Viking21 Viking21

@CrèmeGlacée wrote
I'm a high school student going in to grade 12 in September, and I'm interested in becoming a teacher.