yconic - Is grade 11 NECESSARY for grade 12 comp sci?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Is grade 11 NECESSARY for grade 12 comp sci?

A photo of waazup waazup
1. Okay, I know it's a prerequisite. Let's just say I get through though. Will not taking gr. 11 comp sci, but have taking two comp eng. courses that do a bit of programming put me at a disadvantage? Is there really all THAT much stuff you learn in grade 11 which is necessary for grade 12? I'm a 90 student and I'm obviously aiming for a real high mark (as in I would like it to be possible).

2. How do online courses work? Say If I can do gr. 11 online? I don't know anything about registering, although I will find out from my counsellor if it's even available in Ontario!

3. The most important one: Is taking Comp sci in high school necessary for studying comp sci at uni? Of course it's recommended. I might do a Dual degree (or possibly just CS) in CS..but obviously if I don't take comp sci in high school I wouldn't know much. Sure, it's not in their requirements. But will I be at a significant disadvantage, or do they teach first year as a "catch-up" and "introduction" year to everyone, where in second year I can be at the same level as ones who actually have had experience in comp sci in high school?

Thank you.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
8 replies

A photo of jelly jelly