yconic - Is it a good idea for me to drop this course?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Is it a good idea for me to drop this course?

A photo of MrRoboto MrRoboto
So I'm currently in my second semester of grade 11 and I'm taking 4 courses at the moment and 3 of them I enjoy pretty well and am likely to get mid-high 80s in, but my other class (physical geography) I totally hate. This is mainly because everything we do in class is nothing at all what the course is supposed to be and our teacher uses it as a chance to teach us about maps and his hobbies and stuff and nothing at all what we're supposed to be doing. I hate the class in general and I have no interest to learn anything and the only reason I picked it was because I had a schedule conflict and it was the best thing available.

My average first semester was pretty crappy at a 68%, and since my goal is to go to Carleton for journalism and the cut-off is around mid-eighties, I already wouldn't get accepted for early admission.

Seeing as I already plan on taking 8 grade 12 courses next year and I'm not interested in the course at all, do you think it is a good idea to drop the course? I don't see how it could do me any harm as my university acceptance will be likely based solely off of grade 12 marks and staying in the course would likely only decrease my average.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
4 replies

A photo of SaugasFinest SaugasFinest

@MrRoboto wrote