yconic - Is It Still Worth It To Apply?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Is It Still Worth It To Apply?

A photo of MyNameIsChris MyNameIsChris
Hi guys, I'm a Canadian student (outside QC/ON) that is deciding whether or not to apply to McGill. I know I could of finished with better grades, but here's what I got:

French- 54% (although if my teacher accepts some late work, it could jump up to anywhere between 75%-80%)
Biology- 84%
Math- 86%
Chemistry- 88%

I'm seriously worried about this, and I have a few questions that I hope you guys can help me answer. But first a little info on my situation. UBC will take my top 4 courses. McGill will take my top 5 courses. I only have 3 courses this new semester (English, Physics and Calculus), and the other class is a spare. If I apply into the Science department at either school I will be required to use my Math grade and my Chemistry grade to calculate my average, as they ask for your Math grade and 2 of Bio, Chem or Physics (and I already know that Chemistry will be one of the science courses that I am using). If I apply into Arts at McGill, I will still be required to send in my Math AND Chemistry marks as they will take my (hopeful) higher marks in my 3 second semester classes, as well as my 2 highest marks in first semester, which are Math and Chemistry. If I apply into Arts at UBC, then I will have to seond in my Chemistry mark and my 3 second semester marks as they will not require Math, and UBC only requires 4 courses from me. So here's what I need help with: