yconic - Journalism, History, universites, doubts, doubts...
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Journalism, History, universites, doubts, doubts...

A photo of alexep alexep
Hi,

I'm a permanent resident in Canada, although I have finished high school in Portugal (last July). Until today, I have always thought about studying Journalism, but History has been an option as well. When I came to Canada, I was determined to go with Journalism, and Ryerson seemed to be the best choice for me since I live in Toronto and from what I understand, this is one of the best Journalism programs in the country. The thing is, I'm obviously not as fluent in English as I am in Portuguese, and if I want to study Journalism, excellent knowledge of English and strong communication skills are a must. So I considered History again. Of course excellent English skills are required as well, but it's different. Besides, it's something I know I enjoy and am good at, and being a teacher or a professor in the future is actually an idea I quite like. What made me 'relegate' History to 2nd choice was the chances of employment. Of course someone with a History Degree has some difficulties finding a good job - more than those who have a Journalism degree, I think, although that is also not a very happy career in this perspective.
Anyway, I'm not completely sure yet of what I want. Which brings me to these questions: