yconic - Low GPA - Any chances?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Low GPA - Any chances?

A photo of 4thefuture0101 4thefuture0101
Hey guys, new to this forum.
I am currently in my last year of BSc - Biology, undergraduate studies and due to a few unforeseen circumstances in my first two years, my undergraduate GPA is completely shot.
Currently: 2.7 GPA (roughly)

My passion has been health sciences since I was young, of course then, I was adamant on being a doctor. I know that it's near impossible to reach that goal - and I'm not trying to be pessimistic.

I work 30-40 hours a week, in a patient care facility, and am not eligible for any loans so I was responsible for paying tuition. I know what I want to do, and I know I'm not stupid. I just made a few stupid mistakes and I'm paying the price for it now. My GPA in my last year of university was excellent. With that being said, what are my options now? I don't if i should retake courses, apply for a post-bac program, or re-do all the prerequisites at another institution and use solely these marks to apply elsewhere. I apologize for being long-winded with the post, but any help would be very appreciated. Thank you.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
3 replies

A photo of inthemaking inthemaking
Have you taken the MCAT yet? If so, how did you do?