yconic - McGill New Bioengineering program - premed
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

McGill New Bioengineering program - premed

A photo of IronMan IronMan
Hi there,

I am really interested in a Medicine career at The U.S.A and as a high school student, I am looking to make the right decision in order to pave the way to my dream of becoming a doctor and going to a top notch US medical school. So, I discovered this new program called bioengineering that is slated to begin next year at McGill and I am really interested. Actually, I am looking to some good advice, I am just thinking that engineering would be a good preparation for med school because it teaches you how to think and solve problems and it's really interesting, also so many research opportunities that will look great on resume for med school, a good back up profession if not admitted to med school but at the same time it may be a GPA killer, so I would really appreciate your opinion about that especially that a top med school in the US will basically require something around 3.8 GPA, I don't know if that's possible in engineering at McGill but hope it is ! lol. Also, I heard that in top schools such as Harvard they use grade inflation to make their pre-med students look great for med school and I just wonder if such a thing exists at McGill knowing that McGill doesn't have a pre-med society nor a pre-med committee that will look into that for students considering careers in medicine after undergrad ? Thanks in advance ;)
Was this helpful? Yes 0
20 replies

A photo of ktel ktel
No, McGill won't inflate your grades if you are pre-med to make you look better. And I sincerely doubt that Harvard does that either.