yconic - MCMASTER HEALTH SCIENCES!!
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

MCMASTER HEALTH SCIENCES!!

A photo of Lefty07 Lefty07
I'm a grade 11 student from Ontario and I want to apply to McMaster's Health Sciences Program (BHSc) next year. I'm not sure of what exactly goes on in the admissions process so I was hoping you guys could answer some questions for me? :)

1) What kind of average do you need to get in? I know they say it's a 90 to even be considered and I've also heard that after you pass 90ish they use the supplement to decide who gets in.

2) Do they consider COURSE RIGOR? My school has an advanced stream (course code is 4UN) and a regular stream (4U, like the rest of the province). Will the 4UN show up on my transcript and will it matter how hard my classes were? Also, my school is notorious for its tough coursework and teachers and we have a lot of people that go to Mac each year. Will they know about how hard the school is or will I lose to someone who has a 99 average from an easy school? :/ W

3) We have AP courses at my school as well (part of advanced stream) that you can take in grade 12. Should I take them next year or just switch to regular classes and get higher marks? Are AP courses/exam marks considered in ADMISSIONS or just for giving course credit?

4) Are extracurricular activities a factor in admissions? I've founded several service clubs and my guidance counselor said that my activities are good enough to *possibly* get me into a school like Hopkins or an Ivy. Will this help me? Do they ask about this on the supplement?

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! I'm freaking out.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
10 replies

A photo of inthemaking inthemaking