yconic - McMaster vs Waterloo
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

McMaster vs Waterloo

A photo of kthukral kthukral
Guys, m applying for university this year. I need advice which school will be better. Basics that you need to know about me is that i am a good student but not a nerd in anyway. Campus life matters too.
Btw, before any trollers go on to say that mcmaster grads dont find jobs but waterloo grads do, that is just plain bullshit. I know quite a lot of people from waterloo who are still trying to find a good job and on the other hand i know people form mcmaster who are very successful engineers.
Thanx for your help.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
3 replies

A photo of cpeister cpeister
I am a 1A student in Mechanical at Waterloo, and so far I really do think I made the right choice. With that being said, I have a friend that turned down his offer to Waterloo, went to Mac, and hasn't looked back.

Waterloo is a more difficult program to get into, and many will tell you that it is more difficult. Keep in mind that many people go to McMaster when they don't get into Waterloo.

Something important to consider is whether you are interested in co-op. This is what sells many people on Waterloo. At the completion of your degree, you will have 20-24 months of paid work experience. Many students also have job offers from the companies they co-oped at. McMaster also has co-op, but it is not nearly as well organized.