yconic - Medicine or Engineering
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Medicine or Engineering

A photo of tnazz tnazz
I am a grade 12 student and I have applied to:
Mac Life Sci
Western BioMed
UTM LIfe Sci
Waterloo Electrical Engineering
UofT Electrical Engineering

I am currently taking biology, physics and advance functions this semester.
Biology 86%
Physics 92%
Advance Functions 94%

Before this year started I wanted to go into medicine for sure but now I'm having doubts. I enjoy both biology and physics but I'm not doing as good in biology. I think this is because I find bio subjective and I believe I don't study hard enough. I really do not enjoy reading scholarly journals/articles in bio. I'm worried that if I'm not getting 90% in bio in grade 12, how am I going to manage that in uni.

Also if I end up choosing medicine I don't know whether to choose Western or Mac. I like the program at western more but people tell me there's a lot of distractions like parties. If any of you attend Western or Mac for life sci/biomed please tell me the reason you chose that uni. I would really appreciate some replies. Thanks
Was this helpful? Yes 0
20 replies

A photo of sarahliu2013 sarahliu2013
I would definitely recommend Medicine, but that's just my personal preference. Mac Life Sci is a pretty renowned program and if you do get into that and Western I would say Mac. I know a lot of friends who go there and all of them believe that they made the right choice
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of rani rani
Seems that you aren't as passionate about bio as physics.