yconic - OMG Is This a Joke??
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

OMG Is This a Joke??

A photo of ILovePeach ILovePeach
I am a visa student in grade 12 here. I just got an alternate offer from U of T -- Material Engineering
For U of T, I applied engineering:
1.Engineering Science
2.Mechanical Engineering
3.Material Engineering
4.Track One (I know it's dumb to put it here..)
5.Any program with space

My grade 12 scores are
Advanced Function: 95
Chemistry:95
Calculus:97
Geography:96
English:89
Data Management:99
Physics:96
Top 6 with mandatory subjects for engineering: 95.3

IElTS Overall band 8.0
with Listening:8.5
Reading:7.5
Writing:7.5
Speaking:7.5
I am not saying that I deserve engsci or what, but at least mechanical is fine
A classmate of mine got in EngSci with 93, 7.5for IELTS and almost the same extracurricular activities with me.
Is this suppose to be a joke? Biomedical Engineering is what I've been dreaming for a long time...
U of T.. I just wanna confirm the offer of mechanical engineering from Waterloo now.
Sooooooooo outraged :(
Was this helpful? Yes 0
13 replies

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
How well did you do in grade 11? A program like EngSci might look at that.

If you really think that it's a mistake, you could call them and tell them your situation, I don't see how you wouldn't get in. They've gotten things mixed up before in the past.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Dynamics Dynamics
First semester of Materials is exactly the same as Mechanical. If you really want to take Mech, you can easily transfer into it. I suggest talking it over with the people at UofT though.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Cuiter23 Cuiter23