yconic - Ontario Attendance Policy
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Ontario Attendance Policy

A photo of Doorhandle Doorhandle
Since getting accepted in early April, I have been doing some serious slacking. Our school has a 5 period day, I have lunch 4th and spare 3rd. 3rd period starts around 10:40, and I have developed a habit our of leaving at this time, and missing whatever class I have 5th period. In addition to this I have slept in several times and missed first period. I think this may total to 15 or so absences in 2 of my classes. I have read that in some states, 8 unexcused absences results in you failing the course (which seems stupid). I am a good student in class and get good grades, and my teachers dont seem to hold anything against me. Do I have anything to worry about here? Am I gonna get informed last minute that I have failed a class because of attendance? Thanks.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
10 replies

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
Are you from the U.S.? I ask cause you said "states" but your topic says ontario.

My school doesn't do the automatic fail thing just because you skipped classes. In fact, last year in grade 11, I skipped about 30 days worth of classes in one semestre and I still got a 90. This is in Ontario, by the way.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of chatmike chatmike