yconic - Paying for university?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Paying for university?

A photo of prmly prmly
Hello everyone, I have a few questions concerning loans and things. Many of you are currently in university and have gone through this process so I'm looking for some insight.

I have around 25k in RESPs which my father's accountant says I can't take out until I've been in school for x amount of weeks (after being in school for x amount of weeks, I'm going to bring him a copy of my course schedule to prove I'm a full-time student, along with my proof of enrollment papers). He says I need to take out loans in the meantime. I'm applying for government loans through StudentAid BC (which is BC's equivalent to OSAP, I assume?) and to be honest, I don't think I'm getting much. My parents make 120k gross combined (although a hefty amount is taken from taxes), have around one million in assets, but are unwilling to contribute further than the 25k. I understand their reasoning -- they say they came to this country with nothing and worked for what they had and that I have to do the same. My father is also 60 years old and retiring soon and I don't really want to burden him with uni expenses. 25k seems like a lot, but I'm living on residence my first year and it will dwindle fast.

I've had a part-time job for a year but quit recently. I had around 1k saved up for school but Christ, graduation expenses were higher than I thought so now I don't have much in personal savings. I'm looking for a summer job to help offset the costs of school.