yconic - Pharmacy & First year undergraduate
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Pharmacy & First year undergraduate

A photo of KingJames77 KingJames77
Hey, I'm an aspiring pharmacist, currently enrolled in high school (G-12.) I was just wondering if it's possible to complete all of the prereq's in your first year? This quote was taken straight from the U of A pharmacy, which is where I plan to attend in the fall of 2012,

A minimum of one pre-professional year of College/University level courses must be taken in order to be eligible for entrance into the BSc(Pharm) program.

So is it possible and just incredibly improbable, or just impossible to complete prereq's in the first year of undergraduate? Or is ir just not recommended to complete them in one year? When do applicants to pharmacy typically get accepted, first year, second year, after a the completion of a bachelors degree in a related field? In addition what are the best courses to take, like for english there's AUENG 103, 104, and ENG 121-125, what do the different numbers mean, or different classes mean? What does a typical first year of undergraduate studies, in which one is trying to complete the prereq's for pharmacy school, look like? Also, how hard is it to get accepted into pharmacy, I have a high eighty average in high school currently, and just don't want to get my hopes up and then have them shot down if I don't get accepted. Sorry I'm kind of a novice when it comes to university haha But any help would be much appreciated, thanks.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
7 replies

quote from U of A pharmacy website*
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of mynameismattgotmlgo mynameismattgotmlgo