yconic - Program Transfer from science to business
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Program Transfer from science to business

A photo of shawrama shawrama
Hey Everyone!

I am currently a life science student in my 2nd year at Mac. However I am looking to switch fields into accounting. My options are either a bcomm degree, at my current university, or a BA in Economics and Accounting at Laurier. I am looking for advice on which program would be better for future career paths. I have heard that bcomm is significantly better, is this true and why? Also how much do grades matter to employers vs. the degree students graduate with? I know I can get better grades in the BA program, (because I am a transfer student they will start my GPA off fresh, erasing all my previous bad marks), however if all employers require is a B+ to A-, then I can achieve that in either program.

Any feedback is really appreciated. Thanks!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
4 replies

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
Your previous marks don't erase-they stay on your transcript even if you transfer schools and programs. If you want to go into business and do accounting a Bcomm, BBA or a BAcc(Brock, Waterloo) is required. Mac's business is decent and they offer all the credits needed to become a CA. Talk to an academic advisor.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of comicbookguy comicbookguy