yconic - Questions about Canadian university applications
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Questions about Canadian university applications

A photo of willeh willeh
Hi, I am an Ontario high school student entering grade 12 in the upcoming school year. I've been doing some research about Canadian universiteies and now I've got a few questions. I would appreciate any help I get from this forum, especially those from the university students who went throught it all and have lots of experience. Now onto the questions!

My top 2 choise right now are Life Sci at UBC and UoT, and I would like to study the field of biochemistry (not med).

Question 1: I've went to both the websites of UBC and UoT, and I've only found information about submiting the OUAC number under the application tab. But what about the supplements? By supplements I mean personal statement, recommendation letter, history of awards, etc. I couldn't find any info on the website about when and how to submit these items, and I'm wondering are these document even needed for application. Would someone with experience applying to university tell me are these items needed for application or not?

Question 2: I am not a Canadian citizen, but I have lived in Canada for the past 6 years and have a permenent resident card, does this affect my university application at all?

Question 3: I have heard from some sources on the web that unlike US universities, Canadian universities focus more on the students' grades and less about extra curriculars. If this is true, just how important are grades compared to extra curriculars for a Canadian university?